Warning: Use of undefined constant REQUEST_URI - assumed 'REQUEST_URI' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in C:\xampp\htdocs\mbc1\wp-content\themes\jannah4\functions.php on line 73
Workforce India Coach Candidates: Virender Sehwag, Gary Kirsten, Mahela Jayawardene, Tom Moody | Kirsten-Jayawardene can apply for coach of Workforce India, Moody and Sehwag additionally within the race – jj

Workforce India Coach Candidates: Virender Sehwag, Gary Kirsten, Mahela Jayawardene, Tom Moody | Kirsten-Jayawardene can apply for coach of Workforce India, Moody and Sehwag additionally within the race


  • Gary Kirsten's coaching team won the World Cup in 2011
  • Jayawardene coach Mumbai Indians in IPL, team doubles champion in his coaching

Dainik Bhaskar

Jul 23, 2019, 04:19 PM IST

Sports desk The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has asked for the chief coach of Team India till July 30. The current coach Ravi Shastri's tenure ended after the World Cup. His term extended for the West Indies tour Shastri will not have to apply. They will give direct interviews. According to media reports, along with Shastri, Gary Kirsten, Mahela Jayawardene, Tom Moody and Virender Sehwag are also in the race. In Kirsten's coaching, the Indian team won the World Cup in 2011. In the Jayawardene coaching, Mumbai Indians were twice and Tom Moody's Sunrisers Hyderabad once became IPL Champion.

Mahela Jayawardene

Jayawardene, who has scored 20,000 runs in international cricket, was also the captain of the Sri Lankan team. He was the batting consultant of the England team in 2015. After this, he was made the Mumbai Indians coach in 2017. The team with them became champion in 2017 and 2019. Jayawardene from 2008 to 2010 in Kings XI Punjab, Kochi Tuskers Kerala in 2011 and Delhi Daredevils from 2012 to 2014 in the IPL.

Gary kirsten

In the 2007 World Cup coaching of Grape Chappell, the Indian team was out in the group stage. After this, Kirsten was made the coach of Team India in 2008. He coached the team from 2008 to 2011. For family reasons, he did not forward his contract. After India, he coached South African team for two years. After that, Delhi Daredevils coach from 2014 to 2015 He is the coach of the Royal Challengers Bangalore from 2018. This team is captain Virat Kohli. Kirsten's name came out recently for the chief coach of the Indian women's cricket team.

Tom moody

Former Australian all-rounder Tom Moody was the claimant to become the coach of the Indian team after John Wright in 2005, but Chappell was given the responsibility. After this Moody became the Sri Lankan coach. In his coaching, Sri Lanka reached the 2007 World Cup finals. He coached Western Australia in the 2007 Big Bash. After this, there were also coaches of Kings XI Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL. In his coaching, the Sunrisers team became champion in 2016. He has recently been removed from the post of Sunrise

Virender Sehwag

When Anil Kumble resigned from the post of coach in 2017, Sehwag was considered to be its main contender. Considering the casual approach of Sehwag during the selection, the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) did not make him coach. Sehwag was the mentor of Kings XI Punjab in 2016. He has played more than 30 Tests and more than 50 ODIs, but he has no certificate of coaching. For the post of coach, the BCCI has sought two years of experience.

Shastri's coaching team misses three big occasions in four

57-year-old Shastri was the captain of Team India's captain Kohli. Shastri got four big matches to prove himself as a coach – Test series in South Africa, England and Australia and then World Cup, but they failed in 3 of these 4 missions. The team could not win the Test series in South Africa and England. The team did not even make it to the finals of the World Cup ended in the last days. His biggest achievement is to win the team in Australia for the first time in the Test series in Australia.

Shastri coaching team won 8 ODI series, 2 defeats

  • ODIs: India have played Sri Lanka, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, D. Africa won the series from the West Indies. England and Australia were defeated. Asia Cup won.
  • T20: Sri Lanka, New Zealand, D. Won series from Africa, Ireland, England and West Indies Two series equals Losers from New Zealand, Australia Tri Series won in Sri Lanka.
  • Test: Wins series from Sri Lanka, West Indies, Afghanistan and Australia. D. Losers from Africa, England Shastri won 7 Tests outside the country in coaching.
Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button