Karnataka calls for Rs 3,000 crore package deal for flood reduction | Karnataka calls for Rs 3,000 crore package deal for flood reduction

Bengaluru: Chief Minister of Karnataka B.S. Yeddyurappa on Saturday demanded Rs 3,000 crore assistance from the central government for relief operations in the 14 flood-affected districts of the state in the northwest and coastal areas, which have been affected by heavy monsoon rains and storms since August 1.

Yeddyurappa said, 'I have demanded Rs 3,000 crore central assistance for relief work. 24 people have died and around 14,000 houses have been damaged in the last 10 days due to heavy monsoon rains and floods in 14 districts of the state in the northwest, central and coastal areas.

The state government has released Rs 100 crore in the last 2-3 days for rescue and relief operations in the affected districts. After reviewing the situation in the affected districts, the Chief Minister said that floods and landslides claimed 24 lives, while 2,35,105 people were evacuated and taken to safer areas.

Yeddyurappa said, "1,57,498 people seeking shelter in 624 relief camps in the affected areas are being provided drinking water, food, medicines, clothes, blankets and other facilities and their damaged houses are being repaired."

Due to continuous rains in the affected districts, the flood situation is serious. The Chief Minister said that public property has been damaged, including roads, highways, government buildings, electric poles, transformers and other basic facilities.

Yeddyurappa said, 'The length of damaged roads and highways is 2,450 km and a loss of Rs 1,427 crore is estimated as 530 bridges and 56 public buildings have also been damaged.

Yeddyurappa said that 3,22,448 hectares of agricultural land has been damaged and farmers will be compensated under the State and Central Agricultural Insurance Scheme. Yeddyurappa said, "Although 44,013 cattle were also taken out and provided shelter, 222 livestock were killed in the floods."

The 14 affected districts of the state – Bagalkot, Belagavi, Bijapur (Vijayapura), Chikkamagaluru, Dakshina Kannada, Dharwad, Gadag, Hassan, Hubli, Kodagu, Mysore, Shivamoga, Udupi and Uttara Kannada.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button